By deleting a page, you are erasing all content that lives on that page, as well as removing the page from the sitemap both on the public side of the site and in the backend where you administrate the site. If you are unsure if you should fully delete a page, we recommend you Unpublish a page. Unpublishing means that are removing the page from public access, but it still lives in SiteWrench for your and your Editors to access.
How to Delete a Page
When viewing the sitemap, hover over the page to view the settings icon and click on the settings icon. At the bottom of the modal window that will be displayed, click the red 'Delete Page' button. Clicking the same settings icon when you are in the editing content view will prompt the same modal window. You will be sent through a series of confirmations to delete the entire page.
- Option 1: Irreversibly Delete Page and Parts. This will completely remove and erase this page and its installed page parts completely.
- Option 2: Delete Page and Uninstall Page Parts: This will completely remove the page, however, the installed page parts will be 'uninstalled' or removed from the page but saved, so that you can use them at a later date. You can view the uninstalled page parts from your 'Page Parts' tab of the system. As a note, uninstalled page parts do utilize your allowed hosting plan quantities for that page part.
How to Unpublish a Page
When you first create a page, it is Published by default so that your public users can find the page and see its content. However, you can uncheck the Published box and save the page. This means that no one can view the page publicly even if they have a direct link to it. The user will instead see a 404 Page Not Found message displayed.
This is a useful option if you are wanting to build out the page content but not allow anyone to view it at the time. This is also useful if you want to remove the page publicly, but do not necessarily want to commit to deleting the page and its content. By unpublishing, the page and its content remains available and unaltered in the backend of SiteWrench, where you or another Editor with permissions may edit the content or make it Published again in the future.