When you add profiles one at a time, our system will send an email to the person's email address that you added to allow them to confirm their account. The profile can not log into your site until their profile has been confirmed. However, you can bypass this manual confirmation process by checking the box 'Verified Person', and on save, the member will be instantly verified and active.
You can import a list of members using the 'import members' tab. NOTE: You must use our sample csv file located in that area to merge your data into. You will notice on only has a few fields. You can not remove these fields or add additional fields (such as your custom profile fields) at this time. However, this will allow you to quickly import a list of members into any group(s) and then those member profiles can be edited to include the additional fields / information.